Tuesday, February 19, 2019

CRC Calendar 2018/2019

CRC Testing Friday, October 5, 2018
CRC Round 1 Friday, October 12, 2018
CRC Round 2 Friday, November 2, 2018
CRC Round 3

Round 3:  Friday, December 7, 2018

CRC Round 4

Round 4:  Friday, January 11, 2019

CRC Round 5

Round 5:  Friday, February 1, 2019

CRC Round 6

Round 6:  Friday, March 8, 2019

CRC Round 7

Round 7:  Friday, April 26, 2019

CRC Spare  Friday, May 3, 2019

Strict Standards: Declaration of JCacheControllerView::get() should be compatible with JCacheController::get($id, $group = NULL) in /home/content/27/6953627/html/libraries/loader.php on line 354

Shaikh Salman picks up his 8th 2000CC victory

User Rating:  / 0

It was an unsuccessful day for Mustafa Al Khan during the fourth round of the Batelco 2000CC Challenge seen this weekend at the circuit, but a truly victorious one for Shaikh Salman bin Isa bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa as he triumphed yet again.
Shaikh Salman maintained his track record and won both races, putting his tally up to eight consecutive victories this season. The title sponsors, Batelco, awarded Shaikh Salman with 900 dinars, 450 dinars for each race victory.
The qualifiers were sure to give Shaikh Salman an advantageous start, as he made pole position each time. Unfortunately for Al Khan, Shaikh Salman’s top competition, he had to settle for second position in the starting grid, whilst Essa Al-Kooheji stood in third.


Tough fight for the first win

It was a tough fight to pick up first place in the first race for Shaikh Salman, but he managed to keep a hold of his position throughout the 10 laps. Shaikh Salman, driving a Black Honda Civic Hatchback, picked up first, but only marginally as Al Khan followed a close 1.959 seconds behind.
As for the remaining 2000CC drivers, a bout of misfortune saw Ali Al Kobaisi lose control around the circuit, whilst Mohamed Saleh had to sit out of the second race following technical failures in the first race.  
Fastest lap time, for the first race, went to Shaikh Salman as he made his way round in an impressive 1’22’’582.
Standings after the first race:
1. Shaikh Salman Al Khalifa; 2. Mustafa Al Khan; 3. Essa Al Kooheji; 4. Mike Spahn; 5. Rashid Al Jowder; 6. Ali Al Kobaisi; 7. Faisal Raffii; 8. Osama Al Buflasa; 9. Mohamed Saleh.
A breeze through race two
The second race saw an almost identical scenario to the first, the only difference being Shaikh Salman managed to widen the gap between him and top rival Mustafa Al Khan by 14.845 seconds. A most comfortable win for Shaikh Salman as he adds his eighth victory, out of a total of eight races, to his tally, but an unlucky one for Al Khan has once again he settles for second place.
Essa Al Kooheji clinched third, whilst Mike Spahn followed in fourth and Rashid Al Jowder stepped in at fifth. In sixth place was Ali Al Kobaisi, whilst Faisal Raffii stood in seventh and Osama Al Buflasa was seen in eighth. Mohamed Saleh sat out of the second race.

Al Gosaibis rule the National Sprint
Running alongside the 2000CC Batelco Challenge was the popular National Sprint Championship for bikers and drivers. Over 38 cars and 14 motor bikes participated on the track and it was the Al Gosaibi family which shone through.
First to clinch a victory for the family was young-gun Fahad Al Gosaibi aboard the Caterham in the A1 category. Next in line, Fawaz Al Gosaibi managed to pick up another triumph in the Ruf RGT in the A2 category, whilst Bahraini Carina Ghuloom walked away in third.
The Al Gosaibis continued to conquer as Fayez Al Gosaibi made it to first in the B2 category sporting his Corvette Z06.
Bahraini champ Ahmed Aryan took the number one title in the C1 category in his Civic TypeR, whilst James Penland clinched first in the C2. Tawfeeq Alqattan won the D2 category in his Lexus IS300, and the biking Group 1000 it was David van der Berg who took first in his Yamaha R1, whilst Greg Lumpkin saw victory in his Kawasaki 636 in the Group 600.